Win By Committee

After winning the Alaska Airlines Classic Championship game, All-Tournament guard Kaleb Baugh said it best. When asked how they keep their Coaches team philosophy to score by committee, Baugh stated "nobody's selfish, we just move the ball, find the open man, he takes the shot, we just play, play like we've been playing since we were kids".

To become the Champions the Hoover Buccaneers from Alabama beat Thunder Mountain of Alaska 70-45. First quarter Thunder All-Tournament junior guard Matt Seymour (16 pts, 3 rbs) was the spark for the Buccaneers scoring 6 points in the quarter to help bridge the gap (20-9). Second quarter was a mess for both teams contributing to bad passes, turnovers, and missed point blank layups. Thunders All-Tournament senior center Sam Jahn (19 pts, 4 rbs) who led all scorers had 12 points by the half but the hole was still (38-25). Third quarter was the lowest scoring quarter for both teams as no one scored until 4:58 left (40-25). This would prove fatal for the Thunder as the Buccaneers ended the quarter (50-33).

In the fourth quarter the Buccaneers came out with energy and a killer instinct scoring 20 points to 12. With 5:38 left (55-39) the Thunder were stuck and could not score. They ultimately did not score until 3:15 left in game (64-41). With 2:41 left and two failed attempts to score by the Thunder, a sweet one handed dribble, pull-up jump shot by senior guard Alex May for a deep three in the face of a Thunder defender was the dagger to any hopes of defeating the Buccaneers (69-41).

The Buccaneers team philosophy of scoring by committee created three new double digit scorers, plus the Hoovers averaged four double digit scorers throughout the tournament. The Buccaneers got solid guard play from All-Tournament guard Q. Hardy with only seven points but a great impact with ball handling and movement of the ball while shooting 2 of 3 from the three. Leading the Buccaneers in scoring were sophomore guard Leonard Wood (10 pts); senior guard Kimani Walker (10 pts); All-Tournament senior guard Brannon Defore (13 pts, 6 rbs); and senior guard Michael Wiesneth (14 pts, 3 rbs shooting 4-7 from the 3).

Congratulations to Thunder Mountain for their efforts to compete against outside teams and be successful. Also, big ups for beating the Anchorage area teams to put their name on the map. As for the Champions, the Hoover Buccaneers, according to players Q and Brannon it was their goal to win and to feel this win would help them for the rest of the season. Q says, "It was worth it, there are some Championship teams up here."